Morgan Tsvangirai sworn in as Zimbabwe prime minister

11 February 2009   Zimbabwe

On this day in 2009, the Movement for Democratic Change party leader Morgan Richard Tsvangirai was sworn in as the country’s prime minister by president Robert Mugabe. Mugabe and Tsvangirai set their differences aside and signed a power sharing deal (Government of National Unity-GNU) the previous year.Two deputy prime ministers Thokozani Khupe and Arthur Mutambara were also inaugurated.

The Irish Times. 2021. Tsvangirai sworn in as Zimbabwe prime minister. [online] Available at:

Voice of America. 2021. Tsvangirai Sworn In as Zimbabwe's Prime Minister. [online] Available at: